Posted by: shrewspeaks | August 24, 2008

On the way to SGDT…

As I planned, I made my way up the coast on my way to Newport. The weather was being stubborn and it was exceedingly difficult to see past the warm thick soup to capture any pictures. I did manage to get one shot of the New London Lighthouse, but it certainly lacks the sunny warmth of my mind.

I looked at my watch and it was close to noon, so I made my way through the back roads to Noank, CT and Abbott’s Lobster in the Rough.

Abbott’s has been a favorite of our family for decades.  My father used to go to Abbott’s when he worked at Davis Standard in the 60’s.  Abbott’s is famous for simple seafood cooked to perfection.

Here is my lunch…Rootbeer, chips, corn and a hot lobster roll.

Hot Lobster Rolls are a Connecticut thing.  Instead of mayonnaise, the lobster meat is simply warmed and tossed with melted butter and placed on a toasted roll.  Simple perfection indeed.

The sweet taste is still fresh in my mind. (These foodie images were taken with Jenfer in mind.)

The location of this little lobsta shack is right amongst the marinas of Noank.

Which makes for a beautiful setting while you eat…

Yet, provides for a few issues with the “locals”.

And this little guy seems to be saying “You gunna eat that?”

Many boaters and fishermen come and use the public slips to pick up lunch.

All of this for the larger than life flavor of lobster.

Hey…MusicMaven will be done with her meeting soon and will be making her way down from Boston.  I better get a move on.  But before I do a few parting shots of Noank.

Whew…we haven’t even made it to Rhode Island, yet!

**MusicMaven and Jenfer…post what you need when you need to…we have some hungry viewers and it is going to take me sometime to get through all the images.

Responses

  1. What a wonderful beginning!
    Really love that second to last boat photo…I just might have to steal it. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

