Posted by: Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) | August 12, 2008

Rev up your appetites!

My co-worker Diane’s hand-picked list of Newport favorite eats continues! 

Firehouse Pizza – 595 Thames Street

Just plain fun & funky.  My only break from seafood when the kids are with me. 

Clark Cooke House – Bannister’s Wharf

For a more pricey lunch or fancy-menu dinner.  On Bannister’s Wharf (hence the priciness) but I love it there.  Several distinct dining areas inside – the fabulously lucky get the windows on the second floor overlooking the wharf walkers.  I love that little room in the winter.  The chowder is the “thin” kind but it’s my favorite. 

Black Pearl – Bannister’s Wharf

Mike’s [our old boss] favorite.  I prefer the Cooke House.  You decide!  Both pricey (inside.)  But I’ve eaten at the Black Pearl’s outside summer area – tested the chowder and was very happy.

Vincent’s on The Pier – Howard’s Wharf

Renovated a few seasons ago.  An easy walk from where you are staying.  It’s kind of hidden, down the wharf from the street – don’t be intimidated!  My vote for hidden gem.  I took my daughter there for her birthday dinner last year (our timeshare week often includes her September 20 birthday).  Great view, nice dinner restaurant…old school. 

Scales & Shells – 527 Thames Street

Still wanting to go there!!  My kids don’t like seafood and it’s an ALL seafood restaurant.  Great reviews, always crowded.

Mamma Luisa  – 673 Thames Street

This is way down Thames on “your” side of the street, so not far.  I’m definitely meaning to go there – great reviews – but just haven’t yet.

There’s just a few more on Diane’s list and I will get to those in the next post, along with her tips for places to go and things to see and even where to park!

 

 

 

Responses

  1. WOOOOO…I am all set.


Leave a Reply

Categories

