Posted by: shrewspeaks | July 16, 2008

Yacht Rock…

ETA: OKAY…this morning I was thinking about this YACHT ROCK and I noticed Jimmy Buffett is missing from the episodes, the wikipedia description and the list below.  One would think a list titled YACHT ROCK would include MR. BLENDER & BOAT, right?

Do you think Jimmy Buffett should be on this list?  Yes or no and why?  I don’t and have some thoughts, but want to see what everyone else thinks.

Yacht Rock is a newer term given to a certain brand of soft rockers of the late 70’s early 80’s.  Think o.p. shorts, shaggy hair, puka shells and aviator sunglasses.

You know…Loggins and Messina

Seems many of these bands originating in Souther California infused sailing terms in many lyrics, then the term began to be applied to all the bands who shared a core group of studio musicians.  Many of these bands were dubbed “corporate rock” by critics at the time. 

In 2005, two guys launched the low budget snarky webisodes of the web show “Yacht Rock”.

the rest of the episodes can be found at http://www.yachtrock.com/

iTunes even has a playlist dedicated to this ubiquitous Southern California “White Noise” (and I do mean that term in more ways than one) titled…you guessed it…YACHT ROCK.  Below is the track list.

Africa, Toto from Love Songs

Antonio’s Song (The Rainbow), Michael Franks from The Best of Michael Franks

Arthur’s Theme (Best That You Can Do),  [Live] Christopher Cross from Walking in Avalon

Baby Come Back, Player from The Best of Playe

Baker Street, Gerry Rafferty from City to City

Believe in It,  Michael McDonald from If That’s What It Takes

The Best of Times, Styx from Return to Paradise

Biggest Part of Me, Ambrosia from One Eighty

Breezin’,  George Benson from The Best of George Benson Live

Cannonball Run Theme, Chuck Mangione from Chuck Mangione: Greatest Hits

Caribbean Queen (No More Love on the Run),  Billy Ocean from The Ultimate Collection

Dance Class, Dave Samuels from Del Sol

Dance with Me, Orleans from Still the One

Do It Again, Deodato CTI: The Master Collection

Don’t Want to Live Without It, Pablo Cruise from Want You Tonight

Dowdy Ferry Road,  England Dan & John Ford Coley & John Ford from Coley Dowdy Ferry Road

Dreadlock Holiday, 10cc from The Best of 10cc

Dreamboat, Elton John from Too Low for Zero

Even a Fool Can See, Peter Cetera from World Falling Down

Georgy Porgy, Toto from Toto

Heart Hotels,  Dan Fogelberg from The Very Best of Dan Fogelberg

Hey Nineteen, Steely Dan from A Decade of Steely Dan 

How Much I Feel, Ambrosia from Life Beyond L.A.

Human Nature,  Michael Jackson from Essential Michael Jackson

I Can’t Go for That (No Can Do), Daryl Hall & John Oates from Private Eyes

I Keep Forgettin’,  Michael McDonald from If That’s What It Takes

I’m Not In Love, 10cc from The Very Best of 10cc

I’ve Just Seen a Face, Kenny Rankin from A Song for You

If You Leave Me Now, Chicago from Love Songs

Island, The Ben Taylor Band from Famous Among the Barns

Island, Gerry Rafferty from City to City

It Might Be You (From “Tootsie”), Stephen Bishop

It’s Sad to Belong,  England Dan & John Ford Coley & John Ford from Coley Dowdy Ferry Road

Jamaica Me Crazy, Bertie Higgins from Bertie Higgins: The Ultimate Collection

JoJo, Boz Scaggs from Middle Man

Kiss On My List, Daryl Hall & John Oates from Hall and Oates: Greatest Hits – Rock ‘n Soul, Pt. 1

Kiss You All Over, Exile from The Best of Exile

Kokomo, The Beach Boys from Sounds of Summer 

The Lady Wants to Know, Michael Franks from The Best of Michael Franks: a Backward Glance

Lonely Night (Angel Face), Captain & Tennille from Captain & Tennille’s Greatest Hits

Love Will Find a Way, Pablo Cruise from The Best of Pablo Cruise

Magnet and Steel, Walter Egan from 20 Best of Rockin’ 70’s 

Minute by Minute, Michael McDonald from The New York Rock and Soul Revue: Live at the Beacon

Moonlight Feels Right, Starbuck from Ridin’ the Hits of the ’60s & ’70s Vol. 2

Mr. Smooth, Michael Franks from Barefoot on the Beach

Muskrat Love, Captain & Tennille from Captain & Tennille’s Greatest Hits

On and On, Stephen Bishop from On and On: The Hits of Stephen Bishop

Paradise, Sade from Stronger Than Pride

Peg, Steely Dan from Aja

Perfect Strangers,  Rita Coolidge & Rupert Holmes from Delta Lady – The Rita Coolidge Anthology

Real Love, The Doobie Brothers from One Step Closer

Reminiscing, Little River Band from Little River Band: Greatest Hits 

Return to Paradise, Elton John from A Single Man 

Ride Like the Wind, Christopher Cross from Christopher Cross

Right Down the Line, Gerry Rafferty from City to City

Rock Me Gently, Ron Dante from Saturday Night Blast

Rosanna, Toto from The Essential Toto

Sail On,  The Commodores from The Best of the Commodores

Sailin’ the Wind, Loggins & Messina from Full Sail

Sailing, Christopher Cross from Christopher Cross

Sara Smile, Daryl Hall & John Oates from Daryl Hall & John Oates

Save It for a Rainy Day, Stephen Bishop from The Best of Stephen Bishop

Sharing the Night Together,  Dr. Hook featuring Ray Sawyer from The Very Best Of

Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise, George Benson from Irreplaceable

Steal Away,  Robbie Dupree

Summer Breezin‘, George Duke from A Brazilian Love Affair

The Things We Do for Love, 10cc from The Very Best of 10cc

Time Out of Mind,  Steely Dan, from Showbiz Kids 

What a Fool Believes, The Doobie Brothers from Best of the Doobies, Vol. 2 Rock

What’cha Gonna Do?, Pablo Cruise from The Best of Pablo Cruise

Whenever I Call You “Friend”, Melissa Manchester from The Essence of Melissa Manchester

Why, Carly Simon from Carly Simon: Clouds in My Coffee 

You Belong to Me, Carly Simon from Carly Simon: Clouds in My Coffee 

You Belong to MeThe Doobie Brothers from Long Train Runnin’

You’re the Only Woman, Ambrosia from One Eighty Rock

 

Did I download it for Newport?  YOU BET.  Coprorate rock, Yuppie rock, Yacht rock…call it what you will…but on a sunny breezy afternoon when you have a frost drink in one hand and friends next to you…sometimes all you need is a little BOZ SCAGGS singing Jojo in the background.

Responses

  1. […] Jump on over to SGDT site for Filed under: Uncategorized — shrewspeaks @ 4:11 am Some Yacht Rock. […]

  2. Er … I have about 75% of those songs. I never heard of Yacht Rock, or Southern California White Noise, but a LOT of those songs were very popular in the Philippines.

    I should start calling it Brown Noise when I vacation down there. 🙂

  3. WOOOHOOO!! Great find, my friend. Like Ivory, I own most of these….carefully converted from 8-track and cassette tape to mp3s.

    But one I can forego is “Cannonball Run Theme”….heh.

  4. Hey IvoryHut…I didn’t mean to offend. I just meant that the smooth sounds are vannilla and safe. These sounds kinda drift in and out of your mind while they play. They have more of a background feel rather a front and center grab your attention. I LOVE a lot of these ditties.

    The Southern California White Noise comes from one of the Yacht Rock episodes. Steely Dan vs Eagles. Check it out hysterical.

    HEY I am posting a new thought to this.

  5. I would say that Jimmy B. is NOT Yacht Rock. Neither is Bob Marley or Kenny Chesney. They all provide great beach party music, but not Yacht Rock.

  6. BTW, it’s REALLY hard to concentrate with that first picture of my dream guy. LAWSY MERCY.

  7. Ack. I still need to understand what Yacht Rock is. I’m imagining a bobbing boat, and it’s wreaking havoc on my motion sickness.

    No offense taken at all, Shrew. I love a lot of these songs especially for the memories attached to them, since they remind me of my pre-teen-into-early-twenties years.

    (Oh, and I’d add Fool If You Think It’s Over by Chris Rea to the list, too.)

  8. And, I would add Fooled Around and Fell in Love by Elvin Bishop and Summer Breeze by Seals & Crofts.

  9. Ooooh, and the ultimate Yacht Rock song….

    Brandiby Looking Glass.

  10. First I should say, if Christopher Cross is included on this list, shouldn’t “Sailing” be on the list rather than Arthur’s Theme? Seems apropro, no?

    I definitely wouldn’t think of Jimmy Buffett as “corporate” rock; he’s anything but. Songs like “Margaritaville” and “Cheeseburger in Paradise” seem to go along with the mood of this category.

  11. All GREAT additions Ivory and MM…

    Karmardav…the list is alphabetical by song…so don’t just by order of appearance.

  12. Checked my “Classic Soft Rock” playlist on my iTunes, and saw some other possible additions. (I may have to rename my playlist now.)

    You Are The Woman (Firefall)
    Just Remember I Love You (Firefall)
    More Than I Can Say (Leo Sayer)
    Cool Change (Little River Band)
    How Long (Ace)

    Okay, I don’t know if I’m still on the right track, but these songs are all from the same period in my teen life, so in my head, they’re lumped in the same group. Which I will heretofore refer to as Northern Manila Brown Noise. Just ’cause it sounds a lot more interesting that way.

    Nothing like a good dose of music memories to boost a gal’s spirit. Thanks, Shrewbie-doo!

  13. In other woids, IT’S ON THE LIST! 😉

    The only JB song that I see fitting here is MAYBE Come Monday.

    The others are more Island Mojo music. ::)

  14. where are my roller skates?

  15. renae, they are probably in the basement with all those nails.

    These songs just remind me of childhood. This is what was playing on “top 40” radio in the 70’s and early 80’s and the radio was always on in our house. It’s all very soothing, actually.

  16. Essential Yacht Rock Mixtape:

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=Y1QKY90K

    Kenny Loggins: This is it (1979)
    Doobie Brothers: What a fool believes (1979)
    Hall & Oates: Kiss on my list (1980)
    Ace: How long (1975)
    Gino Vanelli: Love of my life (1976)
    Kenny Loggins: Heart to heart (1983)
    Hall & Oates: Sara smile (1976)
    Steely Dan: Do it again (1972)
    Journey: Who’s crying now (1981)
    Christopher Cross: Ride like the wind (1980)
    Toto: I’ll supply the love (1978)
    Hall & Oates: Say it isn’t so (1983)
    Journey: Don’t stop believin’ (1981)


Leave a Reply

Categories

